Thursday, July 28, 2022

Review: City of The Dead by: Jonathan Kellerman


Title: City of The Dead
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Series: Alex Deleware #37
Format: Hardcover ( 386 p.) NetGalley ARC

Description:

The past comes back to haunt psychologist Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis when they investigate a grisly double homicide and uncover an even more unspeakable motive in this riveting thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling master of suspense.

Los Angeles is a city of sunlight, celebrity, and possibility. The L.A. often experienced by Homicide Lt. Detective Milo Sturgis and psychologist Alex Delaware, is a city of the dead.

Early one morning, the two of them find themselves in a neighborhood of pretty houses, pretty cars, and pretty people. The scene they encounter is anything but. A naked young man lies dead in the street, the apparent victim of a collision with a moving van hurtling through suburbia in the darkness. But any thoughts of accidental death vanish when a blood trail leads to a nearby home.

Inside, a young woman lies butchered. The identity of the male victim and his role in the horror remain elusive, but that of the woman creates additional questions. And adding to the shock, Alex has met her while working a convoluted child custody case. Cordelia Gannett was a self-styled internet influencer who’d gotten into legal troubles by palming herself off as a psychologist. Even after promising to desist, she’s found a loophole and has continued her online career, aiming to amass clicks and ads by cyber-coaching and cyber-counseling people plagued with relationship issues.

But upon closer examination, Alex and Milo discover that her own relationships are troublesome, including a tortured family history and a dubious personal past. Has that come back to haunt her in the worst way? Is the mystery man out in the street collateral damage or will he turn out to be the key to solving a grisly double homicide? As the psychologist and the detective explore L.A.'s meanest streets, they peel back layer after layer of secrets and encounter a savage, psychologically twisted, almost unthinkable motive for violence and bloodshed.

This is classic Delaware: Alex, a man Milo has come to see as irreplaceable, at his most insightful and brilliant. 

My Review: 

This book brings Alex into a crazy investigation when a woman and a young man wind up dead with no idea what happened Alex helps the police figure out what happened.  The closer they look the more crazy these two people look like with their quirks and things they did.

I found myself falling fast into the world of Alex and how easy it was to travel with him as he does what he does.  I enjoyed it and I haven't read much by this author but I definitely plan to read more of this series so good.  It's great for fans of Alex Cross and Kay Scarpetta!

0 shout outs:

Blogger templates