Friday, June 25, 2010

Review Piercing The Veil by: Jacquelyn Fullerton

Title: Piercing The Veil
Author: Jacqueline Fullerton
Pages: 209
Series: Anne Marshall Mystery #1
Publisher: A P Lee and Co.
Format: Kindle ebook
Source: Purchase

Description:

Tim is a snake. Be careful, Anne. This man will stop at nothing to get what he wants. In the tradition of Iris Johannsen, Jacqueline Fullerton weaves the supernatural and human greed into a tale of murder set against the backdrop of a sleepy little college town. Piercing the Veil has the unlikely crime-solving duo of court reporter, Anne Marshall, and her father’s ghost who is investigating Tim Sherman, a divorcing wealthy businessman suspected of hiding assets in an offshore account. In the process of trying to prove his deception, the duo may have set into motion events that result in the murder of a key witness in his divorce trial. Compelled by guilt to solve the murder, Anne Marshall and the dearly departed stumble into the killer’s path, putting Anne’s own life in jeopardy. You will fall in love with Anne Marshall and friends in this first of Jacqueline Fullertons murder mysteries!

My Thoughts:

Piercing The Veil is the prequel to Revenge Served Cold by Jackie Fullerton. This book is the story of Anne Marshall who's a steno taker in the divorce of Isabelle and and Tim Sherman. Anne knows in her heart that Sherman is a dirty man trying to hide money from his wife. She sets out with law group to find out what Tim Sherman is up to. When Tim Sherman's star witness is murdered, Anne sets out to prove it was Sherman who murdered her. Anne finds a ally in her deceased father who insists she has to find out what Sherman is up to. The ending is a complete surprise indeed.

I really enjoy Jacquelyn Fullerton's writing style it made you feel like you were a cohort in finding out what Sherman had done. I was actually surprised when it ended I thought it was gonna continue for another hundred pages or so. It had me hook line and sinker. I will definitely look for more work by this author. I gave it four cups cause I wanted more, but that is just me.

0 shout outs: